Population survey regarding antibiotic resistance

A preliminary survey among the Swiss population regarding antibiotics and the problem of antibiotic resistance provides important  insights for the implementation of the StAR strategy  

The majority of the Swiss population is well informed about the effects of antibiotics, and trusts the medical practitioner to prescribe  antibiotics appropriately. Most people are also aware that the unnecessary use of antibiotics decreases their effectiveness. This is shown by a survey among the Swiss population that was conducted in 2016 on the issue of antibiotic resistance.

Improving knowledge and correcting misconceptions

The results show that people are generally well informed about antibiotics and use them responsibly. It is important to maintain this  level of awareness in future. However, the survey also revealed a lack of clarity and certain knowledge gaps. For example, there is  some misunderstanding (especially among younger people) of antibiotics and their use against the flu and colds. It will be important  to provide all members of the society with specific information about antibiotics. Awareness and easy access to reliable information  are required if patients, doctors, pharmacists and other concerned individuals – also from the veterinary and agricultural sector – are to share the responsibility and ensure that effective antibiotics will also be available in future. Antibiotic resistance concerns not only  humans, but animals and the environment as well. This is why the Strategy on Antibiotic Resistance Switzerland (StAR) is addressing this challenge through an interdisciplinary One Health approach.

Observing future developments with regard to the use of antibiotics

The survey results are based on statements by people who were interviewed regarding their personal antibiotic consumption and their knowledge of the effects of antibiotics. The population survey was conducted by Demoscope on behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health from 24 August to 6 September, 2016. Future developments in the Swiss population can be tracked using the data  from this survey as a baseline. In order to ensure comparability with countries from Europe, this survey is based largely on the Eurobarometer survey on antimicrobial resistance in the EU (Special Eurobarometer 445, 2016). Compared with the survey results  from the EU, Switzerland has a rather low antibiotic consumption and a relatively high level of awareness, similar to the Netherlands,  Germany, Denmark and Sweden.   

Appropriate application of antibiotics by doctors and patients is essential

On 18 November 2015, the Swiss Federal Council adopted the national strategy against antibiotic resistance (StAR) in order to  ensure the effectiveness of antibiotics for humans and animals over the long term. In particular, the excessive and partly incorrect  use of antibiotics means that an increasing number of species of bacteria has become resistant to their use. The increase in  resistance to important types of antibiotics and the increasing spread of bacteria that are resistant to several types of antibiotics  (multi-resistant bacteria) are a significant concern and constitute a considerable risk to public health. In Switzerland, the purchase of  antibiotics requires a medical prescription and their use is relatively low by comparison with other European countries. Nevertheless, it is important that the population is conscious of the importance and significance of the correct application of antibiotics, and that  people are aware of the relevant issues. By taking antibiotics correctly, patients make a significant contribution to maintaining the  effectiveness of these medications.  

Last modification 18.05.2017

Top of page

https://www.star.admin.ch/content/star/en/home/star/brennpunkte/brennpunkt-zwei.html

Résistance aux antibiotiques : enquête auprès de la population

Une première enquête menée sur les antibiotiques et la problématique de l'antibiorésistance auprès de la population  suisse fournit des données importantes pour la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie Antibiorésistance Suisse (StAR)

Une grande partie de la population suisse est bien informée sur les effets des antibiotiques et se fie au corps médical, lorsqu’il s’agit  d’utiliser ce type de médicament à bon escient. Elle est également consciente que le recours inutile aux antibiotiques réduit leur  efficacité. Ces informations ressortent d’une enquête sur l’antibiorésistance menée en 2016 auprès de la population suisse.

Remédier aux lacunes et aux malentendus

De manière générale, les résultats indiquent une utilisation responsable des antibiotiques et un bon niveau de connaissances en la  matière, qui doit être maintenu à l'avenir. Toutefois, l’enquête fait aussi état de lacunes et d’incertitudes. Par exemple, certains  malentendus apparaissent chez la jeune génération concernant les antibiotiques et leur utilisation en cas de grippes et de refroidissements. À l'avenir, il sera important de fournir des informations ciblées à ce groupe de population, mais également aux  autres. Un bon état de connaissance et un accès facilité à des informations professionnelles fiables sont les bases nécessaires, pour que les patients, les médecins, les pharmaciens et les groupes de personnes concernés – y compris ceux du domaine animal et  agricole – prennent leurs responsabilités et contribuent ainsi à ce qu’à l’avenir des antibiotiques efficaces puissent toujours être  disponibles.
En effet, l’antibiorésistance ne concerne pas que les humains, mais aussi les animaux et l’environnement. L’approche globale selon le principe « One-Health », tel que la conçoit la stratégie StAR, est indispensable.   

Observer l’évolution future en regard de l’utilisation des antibiotiques

Les résultats de l’enquête représentent une vue instantanée et se basent sur les déclarations des personnes interrogées sur leur  recours aux antibiotiques et leurs connaissances des effets de ces médicaments. L’enquête auprès de la population a été menée par Demoscope du 24 août au 6 septembre 2016, sur mandat de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique. Ces premières données  récoltées (mesure initiale) permettent d’appréhender les évolutions futures au sein de la population suisse. Afin de permettre une  comparaison avec les pays de l'espace européen également, l’enquête s’appuie largement sur le sondage Eurobaromètre sur la résistance aux antibiotiques effectué dans l’Union européenne (Eurobaromètre spécial 445, avril 2016). La Suisse a affiché un des  meilleurs résultats en ce qui concerne sa consommation d’antibiotiques basse et ses connaissances élevées en la matière, tout  comme la Hollande, l’Allemagne, le Danemark et la Suède.

Une utilisation rationnelle des antibiotiques par le corps médical et les patients est capitale

Le 18 novembre 2015, le Conseil fédéral a approuvé la stratégie nationale Antibiorésistance, dans le but de garantir à long terme  l’efficacité de ces médicaments pour les hommes et les animaux. Le recours excessif et parfois inapproprié aux antibiotiques,  notamment, a pour conséquence qu'un nombre croissant de bactéries deviennent résistantes à leur action. L’augmentation de la  résistance à certains groupes d’antibiotiques importants et la multiplication des bactéries résistantes à plusieurs classes différentes  d’antibiotiques  (bactéries multirésistantes) sont préoccupantes et engendrent un risque considérable pour la santé publique. En  Suisse, le recours aux antibiotiques, soumis à la prescription médicale, est bas en comparaison européenne. Cependant, il est  fondamental que la population soit consciente de l’importance et de la signification d’une utilisation appropriée des antibiotiques, et  dispose de bonnes connaissances à ce sujet. En ayant recours aux antibiotiques de manière rationnelle, les patients contribuent  largement au maintien de l’efficacité de ces médicaments essentiels.

Dernière modification 18.05.2017

Début de la page

https://www.star.admin.ch/content/star/fr/home/star/brennpunkte/brennpunkt-zwei.html