Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report

The Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report (SARR) is the national report on the antibiotic resistance situation in Switzerland. The report not only focuses on antibiotic consumption and resistance in human and veterinary medicine, but also on the impacts in the environment (One Health approach).

Antibiotic resistance occurs when bacteria become immune or less sensitive to antibiotics. Such resistant bacteria can make it more difficult or even impossible to treat infections. This is why the Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Strategy was launched in 2015. One part of the strategy involves monitoring antibiotic resistance and antibiotic consumption in humans, livestock and domestic animals, and in the environment. The results of this monitoring and surveillance have been published every two years since 2016 in the Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report.

SARR 2022

Find out about the most important figures and results from the SARR 2022 here.

Interview with Andreas Kronenberg, Project Manager at the Swiss Centre for Antibiotic Resistance ANRESIS

Antibiotic consumption

Every time antibiotics are used, resistant bacteria can develop. It is therefore crucial that these medicines are taken properly. The guiding principles are «as much as necessary, as little as possible» and «use wisely, take precisely». Surveillance of antibiotic use in human and veterinary medicine is therefore key.

Veterinary medicine

In veterinary medicine antibiotic consumption has further declined

Some 28 tonnes of antibiotics were used to treat animals in 2021 – a decline of around 6% compared with 2019. Since 2012, antibiotic use in veterinary medicine has been reduced by around half. In addition, the use of critically important antibiotics, which are particularly important in human medicine, continued to decline between 2019 and 2021, and has decreased by 46% since 2016. In domestic animals, antibiotic consumption has decreased by 19% in the last 10 years. Only 3% of the antibiotics used are exclusively authorised for domestic animals.

The rollout of the antibiotic consumption information system (IS ABV database) in 2019 means it is now possible to present detailed data on antibiotic use in animals. These data are provided by vets who have been required to electronically record all treatments and prescriptions of antibiotics for livestock and domestic animals since October 2019.
This information was published for the first time in the SARR 2022 report. Due to a lack of comparison data, it is not yet possible to study the evolution of prescribing practice in animals. Such analyses will be conducted in the next few years.

In 2020, 23 tonnes (rounded) of antibiotics were used to treat livestock and 1.7 tonnes (rounded) to treat domestic animals. In proportional terms, most of the antibiotics used in livestock were for cattle and the majority of antibiotics used in domestic animals were for horses (chart).

SARR22 Grafik AB Verbrauch Vet EN
Source: SARR22; Data: IS ABV

Antibiotic resistance

If the bacteria that cause an infection are resistant to certain antibiotics, the infection becomes difficult or even impossible to treat. The data collected on humans since 2004 and on animals since 2006 reveal a mixed picture: while antibiotic resistance has significantly increased in some bacteria, it has remained stable or decreased in others. Resistance rates have stabilised in recent years.

Veterinary medicine

Indicator bacteria collected from healthy animals show a mixed picture regarding antibiotic resistance

The monitoring of antibiotic resistance in indicator bacteria from healthy slaughter animals is designed to provide information on the type of resistance found in intestinal bacteria of animal origin. These bacteria do not usually cause disease themselves, but can pass on resistance to other bacteria, including those that can cause disease in humans. Every time antibiotics are used in animals, it can result in selective pressure, giving rise to resistant bacteria in the intestinal flora of the animals concerned. Consequently, E. coli as indicator bacteria are a useful instrument with which to observe changes in resistance and to track the spread of resistance.

The resistance rates of E. coli in the intestines of broiler chickens, fattening pigs and veal calves evolved differently between 2019 and 2021. While resistance fell in broiler chickens, rates remained more or less stable in fattening pigs and veal calves.

Proportion of resistant E. coli in broilers

SARR22 Grafik AB Resistenz Poulet EN
Source: SARR22

Proportion of resistant E. coli in fattening pigs

SARR22 Grafik Schwein EN
Source: SARR22

Proportion of resistant E. coli in fattening calves

SARR22 Grafik Kalb EN
Source: SARR22

Environment

New methods allow a better understanding of the spread of antibiotic resistance

Drug-resistant bacteria can spread between humans and animals, just like non-resistant bacteria, and use many different and complex routes of transmission (see figure). As part of the National Research Programme on antimicrobial resistance (NRP 72), various projects looked at the spread of new forms of resistance using next-generation sequencing (NGS). Among other things, researchers found a high colonisation with resistant pathogens in travellers returning from certain locations. They also detected transmission of resistant pathogens from patients discharged from hospital to their relatives, and between staff working in veterinary clinics and the animals treated there. To determine the part played by these routes of transmission more accurately, NGS would need to be systematically expanded. The aim of sequencing must be to gain relevant insights for the control of resistant pathogens and to utilise these for targeted action within the framework of the StAR. 

SARR Grafik Umwelt
1) In health institutions, resistant bacteria can be transmitted through contact between patients, between patients and their visitors, by the nursing staff or through contaminated surfaces and medical devices (during a medical procedure).
2) Resistant bacteria that occur after antibiotic treatment can be transferred from a human to an animal, or vice versa.
3) Bacteria can also infect raw meat during slaughter and cause foodborne infections. They can also contaminate dairy products, eggs, fish and seafood, vegetables and fruit.
4) Tourism and food imports are the fastest way of spreading resistant bacterial strains across national borders.
5) Resistant bacteria can get into rivers, lakes and groundwater reserves, although treatment plants eliminate 99% of them in treated wastewater before they discharge the water into the natural environment.
6) The spreading of manure (slurry) on cultivated fields can also lead to the spread of bacteria, which can multiply on plants, seep into groundwater or be washed into rivers and lakes.

Last modification 24.11.2022

Top of page

https://www.star.admin.ch/content/star/en/home/sarr/sarr.html

Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report

Le «Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report» (SARR) est le rapport national sur la situation de l’antibiorésistance en Suisse. Il ne se concentre pas seulement sur l’utilisation des antibiotiques et les résistances en médecine humaine et animale, mais aborde aussi l’impact sur l’environnement (approche One Health).

Les résistances aux antibiotiques apparaissent quand les bactéries deviennent moins sensibles, voire insensibles aux antibiotiques. Or, les bactéries résistantes peuvent allonger le traitement des infections, voire l’empêcher. C’est pourquoi la Stratégie nationale Antibiorésistance (StAR) est née en 2015. Elle consiste entre autres à surveiller les résistances et le recours aux antibiotiques chez l’être humain, les animaux de rente et de compagnie et dans l’environnement. Depuis 2016, les résultats de ce monitorage sont publiés tous les deux ans dans le SARR.

SARR 2022

Découvrez ici les principaux chiffres et résultats du SARR 2022

Interview avec Andreas Kronenberg, responsable de projet au Centre suisse pour le contrôle de l’antibiorésistance ANRESIS

Utilisation d’antibiotiques

Chaque fois que l’on prend des antibiotiques, des bactéries résistantes peuvent apparaître. C’est pourquoi il est crucial d’utiliser correctement ces produits : « Autant que nécessaire, mais aussi peu que possible », ou encore « quand il faut, comme il faut ». La surveillance des résistances aux antibiotiques en médecine humaine et animale est donc essentielle.

Médecine vétérinaire

Le recours aux antibiotiques continue de reculer en médecine vétérinaire.

Un peu plus de 28 tonnes d’antibiotiques ont été utilisées pour traiter des infections bactériennes des animaux en 2021, ce qui représente une baisse globale d’environ 6 % par rapport à l’année précédente. Depuis 2012, le recours aux antibiotiques dans le secteur vétérinaire a diminué de plus de 50 %. Par ailleurs, l’administration d’antibiotiques dits critiques, qui sont particulièrement importants en médecine humaine, a continué de baisser entre 2019 et 2021 ; cette baisse atteint 46 % par rapport à 2016. Enfin, l’administration d’antibiotiques a reculé de 19 % ces dix dernières années chez les animaux de compagnie. Seuls 3 % des antibiotiques consommés sont autorisés uniquement pour ce groupe d’animaux.

L’introduction d’une base de données portant sur l’utilisation d’antibiotiques en médecine vétérinaire (SI ABV) en 2019 permet d’obtenir des chiffres détaillés. Ces derniers proviennent des vétérinaires, qui doivent désormais saisir électroniquement tous les traitements et prescriptions d’antibiotiques pour les animaux de rente et de compagnie.
Le SARR 2022 publie ces informations pour la première fois. Vu qu’il n’existe pas de données comparables, il n’est pas encore possible d’examiner l’évolution de la prescription en pratique vétérinaire. De telles analyses seront effectuées ces prochaines années.

En 2020, les animaux de rente ont reçu 23 tonnes d’antibiotiques et les animaux de compagnie 1,7 tonne (chiffres arrondis). Les animaux les plus représentés dans chaque catégorie étaient respectivement les bœufs et les chevaux (cf. graphique):

SARR22 Grafik AB Verbrauch Vet FR
Source: SARR22; Dates: IS ABV

Résistances aux antibiotiques

Si les bactéries responsables de l’infection sont résistantes à certains antibiotiques, il devient plus difficile, voire impossible, de traiter l’infection. Les données recueillies depuis 2004 chez l’être humain et depuis 2006 chez l’animal montrent des tendances différentes en fonction des bactéries : alors que la résistance a considérablement augmenté pour certaines d’entre elles et certains antibiotiques, elle est restée stable ou a même diminué pour d’autres. Une stabilisation semble se dessiner ces dernières années.

Médecine vétérinaire

Les bactéries indicatrices prélevées sur les animaux en bonne santé présentent un tableau contrasté en termes d’antibiorésistance

La surveillance de l’antibiorésistance des bactéries indicatrices chez les animaux de boucherie en bonne santé vise à fournir des informations sur les résistances des bactéries intestinales d’origine animale. Normalement, ces bactéries ne sont pas pathogènes par elles-mêmes, mais elles peuvent transmettre ces résistances à d’autres bactéries, y compris celles susceptibles de provoquer des maladies chez l’être humain. Toute administration d’antibiotiques peut entraîner une pression de sélection favorisant l’apparition de germes résistants dans la flore intestinale des animaux concernés. Les E. coli indicatrices représentent donc un instrument utile pour observer l’apparition de résistances et suivre leur propagation.

En ce qui concerne les bactéries E. coli présentes dans l’intestin des veaux de boucherie, des poulets de chair et des porcs de boucherie, les taux de résistances ont connu une évolution variable entre 2019 et 2021 : ils ont chuté chez les poulets, mais sont restés à peu près stables chez les porcs et les veaux.

Taux d'E. coli résistants dans le poulet

SARR22 Grafik AB Resistenz Poulet FR
Source: SARR22

Taux d'E. coli résistants dans les porcs de boucherie

SARR22 Grafik Schwein FR
Source: SARR22

Taux d'E. coli résistants dans les veaux de boucherie

SARR22 Grafik Kalb FR
Source: SARR22

Domaine environnemental

De nouvelles méthodes permettent de mieux comprendre la diffusion des résistances aux antibiotiques

Les bactéries résistantes peuvent se transmettre entre humains et animaux, comme celles non résistantes, en empruntant des voies diverses et complexes (cf. graphique). Dans le cadre du Programme national de recherche « La résistance aux antimicrobiens » (PNR 72), différents projets ont étudié la diffusion de nouvelles résistances au moyen de techniques de séquençage de l’ADN (séquençage de nouvelle génération, next generation sequencing, NGS). Ces études ont permis notamment de constater une forte colonisation d’agents pathogènes résistants chez les voyageurs de retour en Suisse. Elles ont également montré que les patients sortant d’hospitalisation transmettaient à leurs proches des bactéries résistantes et que, dans les cliniques vétérinaires, ces bactéries se transmettaient entre les équipes et les animaux qui y sont traités. Un élargissement systématique du NGS devrait permettre de déterminer plus précisément l’importance de ces voies de contamination. L’objectif de ces études doit être d’acquérir des données pertinentes pour la lutte contre les bactéries résistantes et de les utiliser, par des mesures ciblées, dans le cadre de la StAR.

SARR Grafik Umwelt
1) Au niveau des établissements de santé, les bactéries résistantes peuvent se transmettre par contact entre les patients, entre ces derniers et leurs visiteurs, par le personnel soignant, ou encore par l’intermédiaire de surfaces et de dispositifs médicaux ayant été contaminés (lors d’une intervention).
2) Les bactéries résistantes qui apparaissent après un traitement antibiotique peuvent être transmises d'une personne à un animal, ou vice-versa.
3) Les bactéries résistantes peuvent également infecter la viande crue pendant l'abattage et provoquer des infections alimentaires. Elles peuvent aussi contaminer les produits laitiers, les œufs, le poisson et les fruits de mer, ainsi que les légumes et les fruits.
4) Le tourisme et les importations alimentaires constituent la voie la plus rapide de dissémination des souches de bactéries résistantes à travers les frontières nationales.
5) Les bactéries résistantes peuvent atteindre les rivières, les lacs et les réserves d’eau souterraines, bien que les stations d'épuration des eaux usées en éliminent 99% avant de rejeter l’eau dans le milieu naturel.
6) L’épandage d’engrais animal (fumier) dans des champs cultivés peut aussi mener à la dissémination de bactéries résistantes qui peuvent se multiplier sur les plantes, s’infiltrer dans les eaux souterraines ou ruisseler vers les rivières et les lacs.

Dernière modification 24.11.2022

Début de la page

https://www.star.admin.ch/content/star/fr/home/sarr/sarr.html